Chakra yoga enables you to become aware of your body’s subtle energy system. The objective is to open and balance your chakras to enable perfect health.

The word chakra translates as “spinning wheel”. The yogic viewpoint is that chakras are a convergences of energy, thoughts and feelings, through which our consciousness gets projected. These wheels thus largely control how we experience reality from our emotional reactions, our desires or aversions, our level of confidence or fear, even the manifestation of physical symptoms.

Traditionally, Indians viewed the body as having seven chakras, arranged vertically from the base of the spine to the top of the head. Each of these is associated with particular functions within the body and the way we handle specific life issues, both within ourselves and in our connections with the world.

Understanding chakras helps towards self-knowledge at every level of our being. Chakra Yoga is designed to use the energy of the chakras to support this.

Root Chakra (Muladhara)

Root Chakra is found at the pelvic floor and is our connection to the Earth. It keeps us grounded and holds our instinctive urges to do with food, sleep, sex, and survival. Chair Pose, deep lunges, and squats helps bring our awareness to the Root Chakra.

Pelvic Chakra (Svadishthana)

The Pelvic Chakra is held in our sacrum at the base of the lumbar vertebrae. It is our water center and home of the reproductive organs and our desires. Through it we access our potential for both self-healing and sensual pleasure. You can open this chakra with forward bends, hip-openers, deep lunges and squats.

Heart Chakra (Anahata)

The Heart Chakra is said to be the most powerful of all chakras and the seat of the soul according to the Himalayan Tantric tradition. The Heart Chakra is also associated with the lungs and therefore air. While the heart has the power to outwardly radiate the highest aspects of the human being, it also has the capacity to develop inner feelings of insecurity, disappointment and anxiety. To overcome problems with heart chakra you need to work with pranayama (breathing) and heart-centric meditation. Backbends will also help open the energetic centers of the heart.

Throat Chakra (Vishuddhi)

The Throat Chakra is associated with the element of ether. It is the home of speech and hearing as well as the endocrine glands that control our metabolism. To heal and purify the throat work with Jalandhara Bandha (breathing) as this will awaken the inner energy centres. Additionally use asanas Shoulder Stand to Fish Pose as this has amazing benefits.

Third-Eye Chakra (Ajna)

The Third-Eye Chakra is located eyebrow level mid-brain and is the meeting point between two important energetic streams in the body, the Ida Nadi and the Pingala Nadi. Physically, it is connected to the pituitary gland, growth, and development. Nurturing the Ajna Chakra  allows us to develop intuition, and inner-knowing as well as a feeling that we are much more than a physical body. To heal and purify this center, we can practice alternate nadi shodhana (nostril breathing).

Crown Chakra (Sahasrara)

The Crown Chakra is the seventh chakra and is sits at the very top of your head. Sahasrara is associated with the pursuit of spiritual peace, and connecting to higher consciousness or state of being. There are several asanas that help boost healing of the seventh chakra. Supported Headstand (Salamba Sirsasana), Plow (Halasana), Supported Shoulder Stand (Salamba Sarvangasana), Lotus (Padmasana), Seated Forward Bend (Paschimottanasana) and Reclining Bound Angle (Supta Baddha Konasana).

Chakra Yoga is the foundation of our Online Pregnancy Chakra Yoga Course – Find Out More By Following the Link




0/5 (0 Reviews)